Day-2, 14 February 2020

9:00 am
9:30 am
Inauguration (Oil Lamp & National Anthem)
Welcome Speech
9:45 am
Keynote address by Prof Oliver Ileperuma, Emeritus Professor, University of Peradeniya
“Mineral Resources of Sri Lanka: Present use and Future prospects”
10:15 am
Tea & Networking

Session 1 : Value addition to mineral resources

Chairperson: Prof Oliver Ileperuma

10:40 am
Prof Nilwala Kottegoda – Department of Chemistry, University of Sri Jayawardhanapura
“Sri Lanka’s Black Gold: Miracle or Rainbow?”
11:00 am
Dr Dilushan Jayasundara – Department of Physics, University of Colombo
“Mining Graphite for Graphene: The research that opened up opportunities”
11:20 am
Prof Prof Rangika Halwathura – Department of Civil Engineering, University of Moratuwa & Commissioner of the Inventors Commission Sri Lanka “Innovations for a sustainable future”
11:40 am
Panel discussion (Conducted by Prof O. Ileperuma, Members Prof Nilwala Kottegoda, Dr Dilushan Jayasundara, Prof Rangika Halwatura
12:30 pm

Session 2 : Value addition to local natural/other resources

Chairperson: Prof Sagarika Ekanayaka, Dean, College of Chemical Sciences, Institute of Chemistry & Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Sri Jayawardhanapura.

1:30 pm
Keynote address: Prof Priyani Paranagama, President Institute of Chemistry, Director, Institute of Indigenous medicine, university of Colombo, Senior Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Kelaniya,
“Exploring strategies for value addition of herbal products in Sri Lanka”
2:00 pm
Dr N. M. Kaumal, CEO, Colombo Science and Technology Cell, Faculty of Science, University of Colombo.
“Value addition, Innovation and Commercialization: Challenges and Solutions”
2:20 pm
Dr Thilini Gunesekara, Department of Chemistry University of Sri Jayawardhanapura
“Value addition by innovative polymer modifications”
2:40 pm
Dr. Sameera R. Gunatilake, College of Chemical Sciences, Institute of Chemistry
“Biochar: waste to value ”
3:00 pm
Dr Laksiri Weerasinghe, Sri Lanka Institute for Nanotechnology
“Organic synthesis with Graphene and related carbonaceous materials”
3:20 pm
Panel Discussion (Conducted by Prof Sagarika Ekanayaka , Panelists: Prof Priyani Paranagama, Dr N. M. Kaumal, Dr Thilini Gunesekara, Dr Ranmal Gunethilaka, Dr Laksiri Weerasinghe)
4:00 pm
Vote of thanks – Dr C. N. Ratnaweera, Institute of Chemistry Ceylon
4:05 pm